Baby Grab Ball

May 5, 2008 at 9:22 am (sewing, Uncategorized)

I made another Baby Grab ball. The finished toy is so cute. My grandma used to sew them for all her grandchildren. She explained me how the pattern works over the telefon… But because of my lack of comprehension of space I had tp puzzel abit around and ask a friend…

But essentially it is really easy and cheap to make. 

You need:

Scissors, 1, 2 or 3 fabrics (that depends on your own taste…), a round object (for makind the pattern), a fabric pen (i used a pencil), fluffy stuff for stuffing, some paper and sewing yarn. That should do it. 

 

Take your fabric (don´t cut them into squares like on the picture… There are left over pieces from a quilt I made..) And make a coulor check.

Then make a shape with your round object on the paper. Remember to make it somewhat bigger for your sewing… Copy the shape on your fabric and cut it.  If you take three colours then you need 12 pieces of each colour. 

 


Pin two pieces together and sew them together. I started with hand sewing because I normally prefer it while making patchwork but in this case it makes no difference. I made two baby grab balls one with hand stiching and one machine stiching and they both turned out very good. Just that the hand stiching took days instead of hours. So choose your preferd method and stich on one side the pieces together. 

Pin the third piece to them and close on side up. Then sew the last side together but leave a gab for the filling.

  

Then turn the piece inside out. Fill it with your fluffy material. Stuff it tightly because the filling will shrink.

Close the gab with an invisible stich. Sew the completed pieces at the tips together. 

Take a yarn colour you like because the stiches will be visible. When you attached them like in the pictures above close them to a triangle. Make 4 triangles. out of the 12 pieces.

Sew the triangle at the tips toether.

I attached a bell on one of the corners. Which is good for a baby but should removed when it is grown into a strong tottler, so the child can´t remove the bell and swallow it by accident. 

Finished! I love my grab ball and I ring it alot. (I will keep on doing it until the baby is born….)

 

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

